FAQ - Hardship request

Here we answer all your questions about hardship applications. Below you will find information about hardship cases in winter semester 2021/22:

What happens if I have an exam and am in quarantine?

If you are in quarantine and therefore cannot take part in an attendance examination, this is considered an excused withdrawal, just as in the case of sick leave. In the case of quarantine, please report to the responsible examiner as well as to the responsible person in the Examination Office at the Academic Department. The official document (from the health office) requesting quarantine is valid as proof.

How can I avoid special hardships if I had to withdraw from the exam due to quarantine or illness?

First of all, you can ask your examiner whether it is possible to make up the exam at short notice outside the examination period. This is permitted with the consent of the examiner and the examination board according to § 8 para. 1 SPO. If you have withdrawn through no fault of your own, the following cases usually constitute a case of hardship, which can then be resolved accordingly:

  1. Graduation should still take place in WiSe 2021/22
    Case study: I am in my final semester and have already registered my BT/MT. A graduation must still take place in this semester, since I already have an employment contract or would like to start with a Master's program (etc.).
    In this case, an exam should be made up as soon as possible.
  2. The practical semester starts next semester
    Students who will complete the practical study semester in the coming SoSe 2022 can continue to do so as planned. The practical study semester can be started in the coming semester, even if the prerequisites are not met.
  3. I am going to study abroad next semester (Outgoings/Incomings)
    If students (outgoings) cannot start their studies abroad due to missing examination results, this constitutes a reason for hardship and the studies abroad can also be started before they are completed.

    For incoming students, the exam should be made up as soon as possible.
  4. Examination requirements
    In the case of examinations in which certain examinations must be completed before they can be taken, this rule does not apply in the case of withdrawal from the required prior performance through no fault of the student. Example: Math 1 must be completed before Math 2. The examinee registers for both exams in the summer semester and can also take both exams. An application on the part of the student does not have to be made here.

As a rule, the best way to find a solution is through § 8 paragraph 1 SPO, so that an examination date can be found.

Hardship provisions of past semesters

Hardship regulations as a result of the cancellation of the attendance examinations in the examination period WS 2020/21  

Cases of hardship exist if the postponement of the examination leads to unreasonable disadvantages on the part of the examinee. Hardship cases can be remedied by changing the form of the examination. 

  1. The degree is not possible in WiSe 20/21
    Hardship requirements: Only if examination achievements are still missing for graduation, for which the student has actually registered in the current winter semester 20/21, i.e. the will to graduate is clearly and demonstrably evident. The BT or MT has already been registered or this will be done by February 28 at the latest. 
  2. Practical semester 
    Students who will complete the practical semester in the coming semester 2021 can continue to do so as planned. Here, a generous suspension of the previously required prerequisites according to the SPO for the practical semester is made possible. The practical study semester can be started in the coming semester even if the prerequisites are not met. An application on the part of the student is not required. 
    If students are scheduled to be abroad in May for the internship, they cannot be expected to take an attendance examination in Heilbronn in May. Therefore, hardship cases are also to be assumed for these students and the examination form can be changed. 
  3. Semester abroad Outgoings/Incomings 
    If students (outgoings) are unable to start their studies abroad due to missing examinations, this constitutes a reason for hardship. Insofar as students who are studying with us as incoming students and they are missing performance certificates due to the cancellation of the attendance examinations, this constitutes a reason for hardship. If students are scheduled to study or do an internship abroad in May, they cannot be expected to take an attendance exam in May. Therefore, hardship cases are to be assumed for these students as well and the examination form can be changed. The international representatives approach the incoming and outgoing students and support them in the application process. 
  4. Examination requirements 
    In the case of examinations for which certain examinations must be completed before they can be taken, this rule has been lifted for the 2021 semester. Such cases of hardship occur when, for example, Math 1 must be taken before Math 2. As a result of the postponement of the attendance examinations and the registration period before the new examination period, this is not feasible for the students. Students can therefore register for the corresponding exams. A request on the part of the student does not have to be made here. 
    Students who would like to register for examinations of the main study program in SoSe 2021 can also do so if corresponding limitations of the SPO ("no more than x open examination achievements of the basic study program") are opposed. 

Application process for changes in the form of examination for hardship cases: 

  1. Request by students: Students submit a request for hardship, including the corresponding verification documents, to the responsible examination board. The grade transcript, examination registrations WiSe20/21 serve as proof documents for an application regulated under point 1. The application must also contain the information whether the examiners approve of the change of the examination form of the corresponding examinations. 
  2. Request by examiner: The request for change must be made by the examiner. In the case of a module examination, the change of the examination form is only possible with the agreement of all examiners. 

    Accordingly, students can submit a hardship application to the responsible examination board after consultation with the responsible examiner until January 25, 2021. The application must be submitted in writing by e-mail and the reasons for the hardship must be substantiated by attaching the supporting documents. 
    If the student's request is granted and there is a corresponding request for a change in the form of examination by the examiner(s), other forms of examination will be determined for the students individually. The time and framework conditions are organized by the examiners. Changed forms of examination can be a written paper or an oral examination via WebEx. 

    If the grade submission deadline of February 22 cannot be met, grades must be received no later than one week after the exam date for hardship exams. 

Examination period from May 03 to 21 (subject to Senate resolution). 

Examinations will take place in the examination period from 03-21 May 2021 according to the forms regulated in the respective SPO. All exam registrations for WiSe 20/21 will be transferred automatically. A possible deregistration from an exam has to be done personally, as before. 

In view of the restrictions that will certainly continue to exist in May, we ask the examiners to think about changing the form of examination in May and to apply for this if necessary. As soon as this has been approved, you can take individual examinations before May 3 if the examinee agrees. However, the examination form can only be selected uniformly for the course. It is therefore not possible to set an alternative examination form for some of the students and a written examination in May for the others. 

No, the hardship provision is an offer made by the university. No one is required to submit a hardship application.

Hardship requests are submitted informally by mail to the individual review committee. 

Cases of hardship exist if the postponement of the examination leads to unreasonable disadvantages on the part of the examinee. Remedies for cases of hardship can be made by changing the form of the examination. Further conditions can be found under the first item in this tab.

Cases of hardship exist if the postponement of the examination leads to unreasonable disadvantages on the part of the examinee. Hardship cases can be remedied by changing the form of the examination. If students are scheduled to be abroad for their internship in May, for example, they cannot reasonably be expected to take a presence examination in Heilbronn in May. Therefore, hardship cases are also to be assumed for these students and the examination form can be changed. If interns are in Germany, a hardship application must also be submitted, which will be processed individually by the examination board. 

Yes, you can apply for hardship only for a part of the exams. When submitting the application, it must be noted which exams the application relates to.

No. Hardship cases exist if the postponement of the examination leads to unreasonable disadvantages on the part of the examinee. Since the examinations take place online, this is not a case of hardship.

FAQ – Härteantrag

Hier beantworten wir euch alle Fragen zum Thema Härteantrag. Nachfolgend die Informationen zu Härtefällen im WiSe 2021/22:

Was passiert, wenn ich eine Prüfung habe und in Quarantäne bin?

Wenn du dich in Quarantäne befindest und daher nicht an einer Präsenzprüfung teilnehmen kannst, gilt das als entschuldigter Rücktritt, genau wie bei einer Krankmeldung. Bitte melde dich im Quarantänefall sowohl beim / bei der zuständigen Prüfer*in als auch bei der Akademischen Abteilung bei der oder dem zuständigen Sachbearbeiter*in im Prüfungsamt. Als Nachweis gilt das amtliche Dokument (des Gesundheitsamtes), das zur Quarantäne auffordert.

Wie kann ich besondere Härten vermeiden, wenn ich aufgrund von Quarantäne oder Krankheit von der Prüfung zurücktreten musste?

Zunächst kannst du deine*n Prüfer*in fragen, ob eine kurzfristige Nachholung der Prüfung außerhalb des Prüfungszeitraums möglich ist. Dies ist mit Zustimmung von Prüfer*in und Prüfungsausschuss zugelassen nach § 8 Abs. 1 SPO. Solltest du unverschuldet zurückgetreten sein, liegt in folgenden Fällen in der Regel ein Härtefall vor, der dann entsprechend gelöst werden kann:

  1. Studienabschluss soll noch im WiSe 2021/22 erfolgen
    Fallbeispiel: Ich befinde mich im Abschlusssemester und habe mein BT/MT bereits angemeldet. Ein Studienabschluss muss noch in diesem Semester erfolgen, da ich bereits einen Arbeitsvertrag vorliegen habe oder mit einem Masterstudium beginnen möchte (etc.).
    In diesem Fall sollte so bald möglich eine Prüfung nachgeholt werden.
  2. Im nächsten Semester startet das Praxissemester
    Studierende, die im kommenden SoSe 2022 das praktische Studiensemester ableisten werden, können dies weiterhin wie geplant machen. Das praktische Studiensemester kann im kommenden Semester angetreten werden, auch wenn die Voraussetzungen dafür nicht vorliegen.
  3. Ich gehe im nächsten Semester ins Auslandsemester (Outgoings/Incomings)
    Sofern Studierende (Outgoings) aufgrund fehlender Prüfungsleistungen nicht das Studium im Ausland beginnen können, stellt dies einen Härtegrund dar und das Auslandsstudium kann auch vor Erbringung angetreten werden.

    Für Incomings sollte so bald möglich die Prüfung nachgeholt werden.
  4. Prüfungsvoraussetzungen
    Bei Prüfungen, bei denen bestimmte Prüfungsleistungen vorher erbracht sein müssen bevor diese abgelegt werden können, kommt diese Regelung bei unverschuldetem Rücktritt von der notwendigen Vorleistung nicht zur Anwendung. Beispiel: Mathe 1 muss vor Mathe 2 erbracht werden. Prüfling meldet sich im Sommersemester für beide Prüfungen an und kann auch beide Prüfungen ablegen. Ein Antrag seitens des Studierenden muss hier nicht erfolgen.

In der Regel ist der beste Weg zur Lösung über § 8 Absatz 1 SPO, damit ein Prüfungstermin gefunden werden.

Härtefallregelungen vergangener Semester

Härtefallregelungen infolge der Absage der Präsenzprüfungen im Prüfungszeitraum WS 2020/21  

Härtefälle liegen dann vor, wenn die Verschiebung der Prüfung zu unzumutbaren Nachteilen auf Seiten der Prüflinge führt. Abhilfe bei Härtefällen kann durch Änderung der Prüfungsform geschehen. 

  1. Der Studienabschluss ist im WiSe 20/21 nicht möglich
    Härtefallvoraussetzungen: Nur wenn zum Studienabschluss noch Prüfungsleistungen fehlen, zu denen sich der/die Studierende im aktuellen Wintersemester 20/21 auch tatsächlich angemeldet hat, d.h. der Wille zum Studienabschluss eindeutig und nachweislich zu erkennen ist. Die BT oder MT ist bereits angemeldet oder dies erfolgt bis spätestens 28. Februar. 
  2. Praktisches Studiensemester 
    Studierende, die im kommenden SoSe 2021 das praktische Studiensemester ableisten werden, können dies weiterhin wie geplant machen. Hier wird ein großzügiges Aussetzen der bisher notwendigen Voraussetzungen laut SPO für das Praxissemester ermöglicht. Das praktische Studiensemester kann im kommenden Semester angetreten werden auch wenn die Voraussetzungen dafür nicht vorliegen. Ein Antrag seitens des Studierenden ist  nicht erforderlich. 
    Soweit Studierende sich planmäßig im Mai für das Praktikum im Ausland befinden, ist ihnen eine Präsenzprüfung in Heilbronn im Mai nicht zuzumuten. Daher sind auch für diese Studierende Härtefälle anzunehmen und die Prüfungsform kann geändert werden. 
  3. Auslandssemester Outgoings/Incomings 
    Sofern Studierende (Outgoings) aufgrund fehlender Prüfungsleistungen nicht das Studium im Ausland beginnen können, stellt dies einen Härtegrund dar. Sofern Studierende, die als Incomings bei uns studieren, und ihnen aufgrund der Absage der Präsenzprüfungen Leistungsnachweise fehlen, stellt dies einen Härtegrund dar. Soweit Studierende sich planmäßig im Mai für Studium oder Praktikum im Ausland befinden, ist ihnen eine Präsenzprüfung im Mai nicht zuzumuten. Daher sind auch für diese Studierende Härtefälle anzunehmen und die Prüfungsform kann geändert werden. Die Auslandsbeauftragten kommen auf die Incomings und Outgoings zu und unterstützen bei der Antragstellung. 
  4. Prüfungsvoraussetzungen 
    Bei Prüfungen, bei denen bestimmte Prüfungsleistungen vorher erbracht sein müssen, bevor diese abgelegt werden, ist diese Regelung für das SoSe 2021 aufgehoben. Solche Härtefälle treten dann auf, wenn bspw. Mathe 1 vor Mathe 2 erbracht werden muss. Infolge der Verschiebung der Präsenzprüfungen und dem vor dem neuen Prüfungszeitraum liegenden Anmeldezeitraum ist dies für die Studierenden nicht einhaltbar. Die Studierenden können sich daher für die entsprechenden Prüfungen anmelden. Ein Antrag seitens des Studierenden muss hier nicht erfolgen. 
    Studierende, die sich im SoSe 2021 für Prüfungen des Hauptstudiums anmelden möchten, können dies auch machen, wenn entsprechende Begrenzungen der SPO („nicht mehr als x offene Prüfungsleistungen des Grundstudiums“) entgegenstehen. 

Antragsablauf auf Änderungen der Prüfungsform für Härtefälle: 

  1. Antrag durch Studierende: Die Studierenden stellen einen Härteantrag inkl. entsprechender Nachweisdokumente an den zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss. Als Nachweisdokumente für einen unter Ziffer 1. geregelten Antrag dienen Notenspiegel, Prüfungsanmeldungen WiSe20/21. Im Antrag muss zudem die Information enthalten sein, ob die Prüfer die Änderung der Prüfungsform der entsprechenden Prüfungen befürworten. 
  2. Antrag durch Prüfer: Der Antrag auf Änderung muss durch den Prüfer erfolgen. Im Falle einer Modulprüfung ist die Änderung der Prüfungsform nur mit Zustimmung aller Prüfer möglich. 

    Demnach können Studierende nach Rücksprache mit dem/der zuständigen Prüfer*in bis zum 25. Januar 2021 einen Härteantrag beim zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss stellen. Der Antrag ist schriftlich per Mail zu stellen und zu begründen und die genannten Härtegründe sind durch Beifügen der Nachweisdokumente glaubhaft zu machen. 
    Wird dem Antrag der Studierenden stattgegeben und liegt ein entsprechender Antrag auf Änderung der Prüfungsform durch den/die Prüfer vor, werden für die Studierenden individuell andere Prüfungsformen festgelegt. Zeitpunkt und Rahmenbedingungen werden durch die Prüferinnen und Prüfer organisiert. Veränderte Prüfungsformen können eine schriftliche Ausarbeitung oder eine mündliche Prüfung über WebEx sein. 

    Falls der Notenabgabetermin 22. Februar nicht eingehalten werden kann, müssen bei Härtefallprüfungen die Noten bis spätestens eine Woche nach dem Prüfungstermin vorliegen. 

Prüfungszeitraum vom 03. bis 21. Mai (vorbehaltlich Beschlussfassung Senat) 

Die Prüfungen finden im Prüfungszeitraum vom 03.–21. Mai 2021 entsprechend den in den jeweiligen SPO geregelten Formen statt. Alle Prüfungsanmeldungen des WiSe 20/21 werden automatisiert übertragen. Eine etwaige Abmeldung von einer Prüfung ist, wie bisher auch, persönlich vorzunehmen. 

In Hinblick auf die auch im Mai sicher weiterhin bestehenden Einschränkungen bitten wir die Prüfer*innen über die Änderung der Prüfungsform im Mai nachzudenken und diese gegebenenfalls zu beantragen. Sobald diese genehmigt ist, können Sie individuelle Prüfungsleistungen auch schon vor dem 3. Mai abnehmen, wenn der Prüfling einverstanden ist. Allerdings kann die Prüfungsform nur einheitlich für die Veranstaltung gewählt werden. Es ist also nicht möglich, für einen Teil der Studierenden eine alternative Prüfungsform und für die anderen eine Klausur im Mai festzulegen. 

Nein, die Härtefallregelung ist ein Angebot der Hochschule. Niemand ist verpflichtet einen Härtefallantrag zu stellen.

Härtefallanträge werden formlos per Mail an den individuellen Prüfungsausschuss gestellt. 

Härtefälle liegen dann vor, wenn die Verschiebung der Prüfung zu unzumutbaren Nachteilen auf Seiten der Prüflinge führt. Abhilfe bei Härtefällen kann durch Änderung der Prüfungsform geschehen. Weitere Bedingungen sind unter dem ersten Punkt in dieser Registerkarte zu finden.

Härtefälle liegen dann vor, wenn die Verschiebung der Prüfung zu unzumutbaren Nachteilen auf Seiten der Prüflinge führt. Abhilfe bei Härtefällen kann durch Änderung der Prüfungsform geschehen. Soweit Studierende sich planmäßig z.B. im Mai für das Praktikum im Ausland befinden, ist ihnen eine Präsenzprüfung in Heilbronn im Mai nicht zuzumuten. Daher sind auch für diese Studierende Härtefälle anzunehmen und die Prüfungsform kann geändert werden. Befinden sich Praktikanten im Inland ist ebenfalls ein Härteantrag zu stellen, welcher individuell vom Prüfungsausschuss bearbeitet wird. 

Ja, man kann einen Härtefallantrag nur für einen Teil der Prüfungen stellen. Beim stellen des Antrags muss vermerkt sein, auf welche Prüfungen sich der Antrag bezieht.

Nein. Härtefälle liegen dann vor, wenn die Verschiebung der Prüfung zu unzumutbaren Nachteilen auf Seiten der Prüflinge führt. Da die Prüfungen Online stattfinden liegt somit kein Härtefall vor.